PBC Releases 2016-17 Championship Dates & Sites

PBC Releases 2016-17 Championship Dates & Sites

The Peach Belt Conference has released the dates and sites for all 15 championship tournaments coming this season.  

Championship sites are determined by the PBC Athletic Directors' Council, who select from those schools who made application to host a PBC Championship event.  Times are subject to change.

Founded in 1991, the Peach Belt Conference is home to 14 member institutions and 15 championships sports.  16-17 PBC members are Armstrong State University, Augusta University, Clayton State University, Columbus State University, Flagler College, Francis Marion University, Georgia College, Georgia Southwestern State University, Lander University, University of Montevallo, University of North Carolina at Pembroke, University of North Georgia, University of South Carolina Aiken and Young Harris College.

The PBC is home to 36 NCAA Division II National Champions including the 2016 Armstrong State women's tennis team.

2016-17 PBC Championships

Men's and Women's Cross Country

  • Oct. 22, 2016
  • Milledgeville, Ga. - Hosted by Georgia College
  • All 10 men's teams and all 12 women's teams will compete
  • Men run at 9:00 am and the women at 10:15 am
  • Georgia College hosts the PBC men's and women's cross country championships for the third time in the 26-year history of the event; one of three PBC Championships that will take place in Milledgeville

Men's and Women's Soccer

  • First round on Tuesday, Nov. 1, 2016.  Top eight teams make the tournament, top 4 seeds host first-round games
  • Semifinals and Finals on Friday and Sunday, Nov., 4 and 6, at Blanchard Woods Park in Evans, Ga.
  • Men's semifinals will be held first at 11:00 am and 2:00 pm on Friday with the women following at 5:00 pm and 8:00 pm
  • Men's championship game on Sunday at 1:00 pm with the women following at 3:30 pm
  • This is the eighth year the PBC semifinals and finals will be held at Blanchard Woods Park, which was also the host of the 2012 and 2013 Division II National Championships
  • This is the only PBC Tournament to be played at a neutral venue



  • Nov. 18-20, 2016
  • Milledgeville, Ga. - Hosted by Georgia College
  • Top 8 teams in the conference standings advance to tournament play
  • The format has changed from the last two years - all eight teams will now come to one site for three rounds of tournament play on Friday, Saturday and Sunday
  • Quarterfinals on Friday, Nov. 18, will be held at 10:00 am, 12:00 pm, 2:00 pm and 4:00 pm
  • Saturday's semifinals and Sunday's championship game times are yet to be determined
  • Georgia College is hosting the PBC Volleyball tournament for the first time ever.  GC started their volleyball program in 2013


Men's and Women's Basketball

  • Quarterfinals - Feb. 25 hosted by the highest seed (cross-divisional)
  • Semifinals and Finals - March 4-5 at the site of the highest remaining women's east seed
  • Semifinal Saturday will begin with the PBC Spirit Competition at 9:30 am followed by the men's semifinals at 1:00 pm and 3:30 pm.  Women's semifinals will be at 6:00 pm and 8:30 pm.
  • Men's championship game on Sunday at 2:00 pm with the women at 4:30 pm
  • The PBC enters the third year of the rotating format; the 2018 finals will be hosted by the highest remaining men's west seed

Men's and Women's Tennis

  • April 21-23, 2017
  • Florence, S.C. - Hosted by Francis Marion University
  • The top eight men's and women's teams advance to tournament play in a single-elimination bracket with a backdraw for third and fifth place
  • The tournament will be held at the Dr. Eddie Floyd Florence Tennis Center for the fourth year in a row


  • April 21-22, 2017 (Rain day April 23)
  • Milledgeville, Ga. - Hosted by Georgia College
  • The top eight teams will advance to tournament play for a single-elimination tournament with four quarterfinal games on Friday with the two semifinals and championship game on Saturday.  Sunday can be used as a rain day if necessary
  • Georgia College hosts the softball tournament for the second year in a row and fourth time overall

Men's and Women's Track & Field

  • April 20-22, 2017
  • Montevallo, Ala., - Hosted by the University of Montevallo
  • All seven men's teams and eight women's teams will compete in the championships
  • Montevallo wil host the PBC Championships for the second time in the last three years


  • May 10-13, 2017
  • Florence, S.C. - Hosted by Francis Marion University
  • The top eight teams in the conference standings will advance to tournament play at Cormell Field and Sparrow Stadium.
  • The 2017 format has changed; the teams will play a double-elimination bracket (NCAA World Series format) over four days
  • Four games per day will be played Wednesday-Friday with both semifinals and championship games on Saturday