ASU's Tovey named Freshman of the Year

AUGUSTA, GA -- The Peach Belt Conference announced the 2004-05 men’s basketball All-Conference team at an awards banquet from the 2005 PBC Tournament in Augusta, GA. Columbus State’s Yandel Brown was named the PBC Player of the Year while Augusta State’s Cameron Tovey was named the Freshman of the Year. USC Upstate’s Eddie Payne was named the Coach of the Year.

Brown set PBC records for points scored in a season and scoring average as he exploded for 735 points, 28.3 ppg. He led the nation for much of the season in scoring and was also nationally-ranked in three-pointers made per game. The senior from Eastman, Ga. is 10th on the PBC All-Time career scoring list with over 1,400 points in two seasons.

Cameron Tovey joins the rich tradition of young talent at Augusta State, becoming the fourth Jaguar to earn the Freshman of the Year award. A true freshman from Perth, Australia, Tovey was second on his team and 17th in the PBC in scoring with 11.6 ppg and was also ranked 10th in the PBC in assists with 3.2 per contest.

Eddie Payne receives his first Coach of the Year award from the Peach Belt Conference, another accolade in a stellar 20-year career as a coach. Payne has improved the Spartans in each of his three seasons at the school culminating in the PBC co-Championship in 2005 after leading his team to a 21-6 record, #1 seed in the north division and a top-10 national ranking.

Below is the 2004-05 PBC All-Conference team as selected by the league’s 11 head coaches. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own teams.

2004-05 Peach Belt Conference Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team

  • Yandel Brown, Columbus State
  • Craig Butts, Clayton State
  • Georgy Joseph, Kennesaw State
  • Lorenzo Lawrence, Armstrong Atlantic State
  • Charleston Long, USC Upstate
  • Louis McCullough, Francis Marion

Second Team

  • Jay Free, USC Upstate
  • Jarred Jackson, Lander
  • Kendrick Jones, Columbus State
  • Donny Lotz, North Florida
  • Rey Luque, Kennesaw State
  • Bryan Taylor, Armstrong Atlantic State


Player of the Year: Yandel Brown, Columbus State


Freshman of the Year: Cameron Tovey, Augusta State


Coach of the Year: Eddie Payne, USC Upstate

Granderson Inks With Jags
April 21, 2005 Granderson Inks With Jags
Jags Split With Clayton State
February 19, 2005 Jags Split With Clayton State
Jags Run Past Braves, 67-40
February 16, 2005 Jags Run Past Braves, 67-40
Jags Sweep USC Aiken
February 9, 2005 Jags Sweep USC Aiken
Jags Upset No. 8 USC Upstate
February 2, 2005 Jags Upset No. 8 USC Upstate
Lander Men Defeat ASU, 68-61
January 26, 2005 Lander Men Defeat ASU, 68-61
ASU, Kennesaw State Split
January 22, 2005 ASU, Kennesaw State Split
Jags Sweep North Florida
January 15, 2005 Jags Sweep North Florida
ASU Splits With Lander
January 12, 2005 ASU Splits With Lander
ASU Sweeps UNC Pembroke
January 5, 2005 ASU Sweeps UNC Pembroke
Hot Shooting Does In ASU
December 30, 2004 Hot Shooting Does In ASU
Jaguars Down Lenoir-Rhyne
December 29, 2004 Jaguars Down Lenoir-Rhyne
Jaguars Take Home Opener
November 29, 2004 Jaguars Take Home Opener
Jags Fall To Benedict, 59-56
November 23, 2004 Jags Fall To Benedict, 59-56
ASU Makes Smith First Signee
November 23, 2004 ASU Makes Smith First Signee
Jaguars Hammer Carver, 115-47
November 21, 2004 Jaguars Hammer Carver, 115-47
Jaguars Headed To Atlanta
November 5, 2004 Jaguars Headed To Atlanta
Jaguars Hit The Hardwood
October 15, 2004 Jaguars Hit The Hardwood