Insperity Augusta State Invitational History

Steeped in the rich golf tradition that is found in Augusta, Ga., the Insperity Augusta State Invitational has steadily grown since its beginning in 1979 and  nation.

The Augusta Golf Association (established in 1949), a group dedicated to the promotion of golf in the Augusta area with a special emphasis on junior golf development, has served as the long-time host of the Insperity ASU Invitational. Today, the AGA boasts a membership of over 200 business and civic leaders.

In 2010, for the eighth consecutive year, the tournament boasted one of the top fields in the nation, with fi ve of the top 20 and 11 of the top 50 teams in action. Host Augusta State claimed the team title and Jaguars’ junior Henrik Norlander captured medalist honors.

Forest Hills Golf Club, home to the ASU men’s and women’s golf programs and host of the tournament for 31 of the 34 years, is very much a rich part of the rich golf history of the area. The course, built in 1926 by famed architect Donald Ross, served for many years as home to the Southeastern Open.

It was at Forest Hills that Bobby Jones began his brilliant play in 1930. Jones himself credited his victory at the Southeastern as the spark for his amazing stretch that saw him claim both the U.S. Amateur and U.S. Open and both the British Grand Slam.

Over the years, the likes of future PGA Tour professionals who graced the fairways of Forest Hills Golf Club include Jodie Mudd, Gene Sauers, Davis Love III, Jerry Haas, Nolan Henke, Phil Mickelson, Steve Lowery, Blaine McCallister, John Inman, Tim Herron, Justin Leonard, Harrison Frazar, Tom Scherrer, Dickey Pride, Brad Faxon, Woody Austin, Richard Johnson, Vaughn Taylor, Lucas Glover, Jonathan Byrd, Hunter Mahan, D.J. Trahan, Troy Matteson, Bill Haas, Nick Watney, Oliver Wilson, Charles Howell III, Camilo Villegas, Graeme McDowell, Garrett Willis, Darron Stiles, John Rollins, Paul Casey, Blake Adams, Dustin Johnson, Chris Kirk, Matt Hendrix, William McGirt, Aron Price and Nicholas Thompson.

Tournament Notables
The 2012 Insperity Augusta State Invitational marks the 34th edition of the tournament ... This year’s event marks the eighth year of Insperity’s affi liation with the event and the fourth year of the event since its return to historic Forest Hills Golf Club ... Augusta State has won eight of the last 12 Insperity ASU Invitational titles ... In 2010, the Jaguars set a new tournament record for the lowest 54-hole total with a 47-under 817 ... With a 274-270 start in the fi rst two rounds, ASU also obliterated the previous 36-hole record by seven strokes ... In 2003, the Jags set new tournament records for both the lowest team total (820/-44) and individual total (Oliver Wilson -- 199/-17) ... In 2003, the Jags erupted for a fi nal round of 21-under 267, the lowest round in tournament history as well as school history ... In 2005, the 54-hole total of 896 (+32) by Augusta State was the highest winning score in tournament history ... The previous six team champions had fi nished under par ... In 2005, Georgia’s Chris Kirk posted a winning total of one-over 217, the highest since 1989 ... The previous 15 individual winners had shot under par as well ... The last medalist to shoot over par prior to Kirk was Arizona State’s Phil Mickelson in 1989 (218/+2) ... In fact, Mickelson’s total of two-over 218 is the highest winning individual total ... Augusta College’s Roger Rowland (1986 and 1988) and North Carolina’s John Inman (1982 and 1983) are the only multiple medalists in tourney history ... The tournament record for lowest 18 holes is 8-under 64 and has been accomplished fi ve times, most recently by USC Aiken’s Roberto Diaz in 2009 during the fi rst round ... Augusta State’s Oliver Wilson fi red an 8-under 64 during the fi nal round of the 2003 event ... A playoff has determined the individual winner three times in the last nine years ... Mickelson’s victory in 1989 would be his fi rst of four wins in Augusta (he also owns three Masters’ victories).

Past ASU Invitational Team Winners

2011     Oklahoma State
2010     Augusta State
2009     Augusta State
2008     UCLA
2007     Coastal Carolina
2006     Coastal Carolina
2005      Augusta State
2004      Minnesota
2003      Augusta State
2002      Tennessee
2001      Augusta State
2000      Augusta State
1999      Augusta State
1998      Augusta State
1997      Mississippi State
1996      Nevada
1995      Florida State
1994      Augusta College
1993      Columbus College
1992      North Carolina
1991      Florida State
1990      Central Florida
1989      Oklahoma
1988      Augusta College
1987      Augusta College
1986      Augusta College
1985      Jacksonville
1984      Clemson
1983      North Carolina
1982      North Carolina
1981      Georgia
1980      Georgia Southern
1979      Augusta College

Past ASU Invitational Individual Winners

2011     Kevin Tway, Oklahoma State
2010     Henrik Norlander, Augusta State
2009     Taylor Floyd, Augusta State
2008     Lucas Lee, UCLA
2007     Dustin Johnson, Coastal Carolina
2006     Scott Brown, USC Aiken
2005     Chris Kirk, Georgia
2004     Matt Hendrix, Clemson
2003     Oliver Wilson, Augusta State
2002     David Skinns, Tennessee
2001     Oliver Wilson, Augusta State
2000     William McGirt, Wofford
1999     Jamie Elson, Augusta State
1998     Vaughn Taylor, Augusta State
1997     Michael Connell, Mississippi
1996     Heath Slocum, South Alabama
1995     Christian Raynor, Florida State
1994     Jonathan Shiflet, Augusta
1993     Tim Herron, New Mexico
1992     Justin Leonard, Texas
1991     Sean Halloran, SE Louisiana
1990     Andrew Rice, Central Florida
1989     Phil Mickelson, Arizona State
1988     Roger Rowland, Augusta
1987     Tom Kies, Marshall
1986     Roger Rowland, Augusta
1985     Nolan Henke, Florida State
1984     Jim Macfie, Clemson
1983     John Inman, North Carolina
1982     John Inman, North Carolina
1981     Stuart Smith, Tennessee
1980     Jim Volpenhein, Kentucky
1979     Mark Sapp, Augusta