Jaguar Men, Women Fourth At PBC Championships

Jaguar Men, Women Fourth At PBC Championships

AUGUSTA, Ga. – The GRU Augusta men's and women's cross country teams each finished in fourth place at the 2014 Peach Belt Conference Championships, hosted by the Jaguars and the PBC at Fort Gordon Military Base on Barton Field Saturday, Nov. 8.





Columbus State won the men's title with 55 points, while UNC Pembroke carded second with 65 points. Flagler finished ahead of GRU for third by four points, and Armstrong rounded out the top five with 125 points. Clayton State's Job Kemboi won the men's title in 24:25.03, averaging a 4:54.8 mile. Flagler's Corey Mundy took second and was named the PBC Male Runner of the Year for his regular-season efforts.

Jags sophomore Nick Del Guercio led GRU once again and finished in 25:38.98 for 11th. Boyd Guttery was four places back and took 15th overall in 25:50.29.  Del Guercio ran his fastest 8K time of the season and of his career. Guttery also set his new personal record in a Jaguar uniform with his fastest 8K. The two top GRU men's runners were named All-Conference for their top-15 finishes. The top-15 runners to cross the line earned All-Conference honors.

GRU's Dylan Forester continued the trend and took 23rd with his fastest 8K time this year of 26:12.24. Freshman Jackson Jacobs shattered his previous best 8K time this year and finished in 26:16.48 – good for 26th. Caleb Watson took 30th in 26:27.22 and Jordan Herbert 51st in 27:09.12 Preston Jones (62nd) and Josh Thompson (65th) rounded out the GRU men.

Montevallo's Katie Nelson, the 2014 Freshman of the Year, won the women's 6K and helped lead the Montevallo women to the conference title with 24 points. North Georgia finished runner-up to the Falcons with 86 points, while Flagler (92), GRU (125), and UNC Pembroke (145) concluded the top-five teams.

Jags sophomore duo Jordan Humphrey and Olivia Rodriguez earned All-Conference accolades for the women's side after Humphrey took eighth and Rodriguez 10th. Humphrey recorded her fourth top-10 finish of the year with an eighth-place mark in 22:10.38. It was also her PR for a 6K race this year. Teammate Olivia Rodriguez crossed the line in 22:10.58 for 10th – second best for the host team.

Senior Tia Ponsell had her second best 6K of the year with a 23:00.08 to finish 26th, while Amber Palermo ended the race in 35th place with a time of 23:26.26. Morgan Ryffe took 49th, Taylor Shaw 61st, and Diana Petrmichlova 79th to finish out the Jaguars seven.

Next up is the NCAA DII Southeast Regional Championships on Nov. 22 in Montevallo, Ala. – the site of the 2014 Falcon Classic that the Jags raced on Oct. 18.

2014 Peach Belt Conference
Men's Cross Country Award Winners

Elite 15 Award presented by GradesFirst
Nathaniel Reeves, Columbus State

All-Conference Team
Job Kemboi, Clayton State
Corey Mundy, Flagler
Ryan McFall, Columbus State
Donny Barnes, Montevallo
Tim Sigmon, UNC Pembroke
Joel Johnston, UNC Pembroke
Cody Mallchok, Columbus State
Paul McNeil, Georgia College
Dillon Hodge, Flagler
Henning Schein, Armstrong
Nick Del Guercio, Georgia Regents
Cordaryl Whitehead, Columbus State
Heath Lamb, Columbus State
Christian Davis, Armstrong
Boyd Guttery, Georgia Regents

PBC Runner of the Year
(voted on prior to championship)
Corey Mundy, Flagler

PBC Coach of the Year
(voted on prior to championship)
Michael Sergi, Armstrong

PBC Freshman of the Year
Henning Schein, Armstrong

PBC All-Sportsmanship Team
Henning Schein, Armstrong
Tanner Thomason, Clayton State
Nathan Reeves, Columbus State
Corey Mundy, Flagler
Jonathan Reid, Francis Marion
Michael Warrick, Georgia College
Boyd Gutteny, Georgia Regents
Chris Pirrello, Montevallo
Tim Sigmon, UNC Pembroke
Jeremy Webb, Young Harris


Fans of Jaguar Athletics can subscribe to the email listserve by clicking here. Fans can follow GRU Athletics at and receive short updates on Facebook at GRU_Jaguars and on Twitter at @GRU_Jaguars.