Jaguars Celebrate 2017-18 Seasons At William Sherrill Athletics Awards Banquet

Jaguars Celebrate 2017-18 Seasons At William Sherrill Athletics Awards Banquet


AUGUSTA, Ga. – The Augusta University athletics department hosted the William Sherrill Athletics Awards Banquet on Tuesday, May 1 in Christenberry Fieldhouse. The Jaguars honored student-athletes and coaches for their athletic and academic accomplishments throughout the 2017-18 seasons.



The annual awards banquet was named in honor of William S. Sherrill, Jr., in 2014. Bill Sherrill was a committed Jaguar Athletics supporter and founder of the Jaguar Club. Sherrill endowed the S.C.O.P.E. Scholarship for student-athletes who have completed their eligibility.


Team and academic awards were given out, as well as overall awards for the entire department that cover all 14-sports. The department gives out five awards that are named in honor of Jaguar supporters.


The Roscoe Williams Female & Male Freshman of The Year Awards were introduced in 2017 and are given to outstanding freshmen. Dr. Roscoe Williams was the former dean of students for the Jaguars for almost three decades beginning in 1970. He was inducted into the Augusta City Classic Hall of Fame in 2011 and was inducted in the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) Hall of Fame in 1992. Williams starred for the basketball teams at Laney and Paine in the 1950s and taught at A.R. Johnson and Josey before coaching men's basketball at Paine (1963-67).


The Tommy Werrick Scholar-Athlete Awards are given to the male and female student-athlete with the highest GPA for the department. A member of the 1966 inaugural Jaguar Baseball team and local high school coach, Tommy Werrick always had high academic goals and instilled them to his team and beyond. Werrick passed away in July 1990 and the award is presented in his honor for upholding academic standards.


The Dick Wallace Coach of the Year Award is named in honor of former president of Augusta College Dick Wallace. He exhibited tremendous support for athletics during his tenure and he passed away in 2009. The Dick Wallace Coach of Year Award continues to recognize coaches who embody class and respect while excelling on the field of competition.


The Gerald Daise Leadership Award is given to one student-athlete who exemplifies excellent guidance on and off the playing field. A former basketball player from 1989-to-1993, Gerald Daise died in his early 20s after a battle with cancer. He exhibited leadership beyond his athletic team and the award was named in honor of Gerald in the late 1990s.


The Fred Barnabei Female & Male Athlete of the Year Awards were named in honor of former Vice President for Student Services at Augusta State University Fred Barnabei. Barnabei began working with the university 1988 and he retired in 2005 as Vice President for Business and Student Services.


Full list of individual and team awards below (Winners in Bold)


Tommy Werrick Scholar-Athlete Awards

  • Lindsey Stokes, Softball
  • Broc Everett, Golf
  • Moritz Gehlhaus, Tennis


Dick Wallace Coach of the Year Award

  • Adam Ward, Cross Country & Track
  • Leza Witherington, Cheerleading


Gerald Daise Leadership Award

  • Aaron Byrd, Men's Basketball
  • Kendyl Conner, Softball
  • Maggie Ashmore, Women's Golf


Fred Barnabei Female Athlete of the Year

  • Lara Way, Cross Country and Track & Field
  • McKenzey Beck, Volleyball
  • Carolyn Edwards, Softball


Fred Barnabei Male Athlete of the Year

  • Tamyrik Fields, Basketball
  • Taylor Coxwell, Track & Field
  • Dylan Forester, Cross Country and Track & Field
  • Patrick Oliveira, Tennis


Roscoe Williams Female Freshman of the Year

  • Micah Weathers, Cross Country and Track & Field
  • Holland Martin, Volleyball
  • Teresa Diez-Moliner, Golf


Roscoe Williams Male Freshman of the Year

  • Hunter Kimball, Cross Country and Track & Field
  • Josh Hewing, Track & Field
  • Alex Shead, Golf


The Jaguar Cup

2018 Winner: Softball

Given to an Augusta team based on

1. Participation in community service

2. Attendance at athletic events

3. Overall team GPA



*** MVP, Most Improved, and Coaches Awards are given out to all 14 sports



MVP: McKenzey Beck

Most Improved: Chloe Allen

Coaches Award: Holland Martin



MVP: Lara Way

Most Improved: Miranda Taylor

Coaches Award: Micah Weathers



MVP: Dylan Forester

Most Improved: Noah Hulett

Coaches Award: Jacob Poston



MVP: Kiana Kelly

Most Improved: Diana Petrmichlova

Coaches Award: JaNae Marzell



MVP: Taylor Coxwell

Most Improved: Daniel Langston

Coaches Award: Dalton Carr



MVP: Ashleigh Outler

Most Improved: Brianna Middleton

Coaches Award: Sydney Grayden



MVP: Tamyrik Fields

Most Improved: Shawn Moss

Coaches Award: Aaron Byrd



MVP: Emily Banks

Most Improved: Tyler Beatty

Coaches Award: Ashley Wilcox



MVP: Alejandra Gonzalez Arranz

Most Improved: Merye Gobernate

Coaches Award: Amelia Pinoargote



MVP: Patrick Oliveira

Most Improved: Jose Cobo

Coaches Award: Gabriel Dos Santos



MVP: Auburn Balcorta

Most Improved: Ashley Boyd

Coaches Award: Megan McCook



MVP: Matt Meeks

Most Improved: Brent Alford

Coaches Award: Jordan Kelly



MVP: Cecilia Diez-Moliner

Most Improved: Sarah Tychsen

Coaches Award: Maggie Ashmore



MVP: Broc Everett

Most Improved: Alex Shead

Coaches Award: Olof Gunnarsson


Fans of Jaguar Athletics can subscribe to the email listserve by clicking here. Fans can follow Augusta University at and receive short updates on Facebook at Augusta University Athletics and on Twitter at @AugustaJags