Augusta State Wins Peach Belt Tournament Title

GREENWOOD, S.C. – Augusta State won its first ever Peach Belt Conference Tournament Championship with 60-46 victory over regular season champion Armstrong Atlantic State in a battle of the top two seeds Saturday at Lander’s Horne Arena. With the victory, Augusta State (20-9) earns its first bid to the NCAA Tournament since 1978. 

Trailing 4-2 early in the first half, Augusta State exploded with a 20-3 run to take a 22-7 lead with 8:10 remaining. The Jaguars led by double digits the rest of the half before taking a 31-15 lead into the locker room. ASU shot 42% (11-26) in the first half, while the Pirates were a dismal 28% (5-18) from the floor. The Jaguars also limited the Pirates to three offensive rebounds in the first half. T.J. Ott led ASU with 10 points at the break, while Greg Favors paced AASU (25-7) with 6 points. AASU’s Robert Campbell, the two-time PBC Player of the Year, was held scoreless in the first half. 

After trailing by 17 points early in the second half, the Pirates chipped away and cut the deficit down to 8 points several times, but the Jaguars always had an answer. A late 9-0 run gave the Jaguars a 21 point lead at 60-39 and sealed the victory. Augusta State dominated the boards by outrebounding AASU 41-28. The Pirates shot only 34.7% (17-49) from the floor for the game, including a rough 20% (3-15) performance from three point range. 

Ott led ASU with 18 points and was named to the All-Tournament team along with Festus Hawkins, who scored 11 points for the Jags. Gary Boodnikoff was named the Tournament’s Most Valuable Player after scoring 17 points and grabbing 9 rebounds for ASU. 

Campbell and Joel Lecoeuvre led the Pirates with 8 points apiece. Campbell was also named to the All-Tournament team.

ASU 89, Francis Marion 73
February 15, 2001 ASU 89, Francis Marion 73
Jaguars defeat Pacers 72-63
February 1, 2001 Jaguars defeat Pacers 72-63
Pacers edge Jaguars 53-51
January 18, 2001 Pacers edge Jaguars 53-51
ASU Defeats Rollins 70-68
November 30, 2000 ASU Defeats Rollins 70-68