Hawkins and Boodnikoff Named to the NABC All-Region Team

AUGUSTA, GA - Augusta State’s Festus Hawkins and Gary Boodnikoff were named to the All-South Atlantic Region first and second team, respectively, as announced Tuesday by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC).

Hawkins earned first team honors after leading the Jaguars with 16.4 points and 7.8 rebounds per contest. Hawkins, a 6-11 center from Pine Bluff, Arkansas, also led the team with 72 blocks.

Boodnikoff, a 6-7 guard from Alice Springs, Australia, earned second team honors after tallying 15.1 points and 5.4 rebounds per game. Boodnikoff led the Jaguars by hitting 79 of 193 three-pointers for a stellar 40.9 shooting percentage from long range.

The 2000-2001 season was a magical one for head coach Gary Tuell and the Jaguar basketball team. ASU posted a 21-10 overall record, the school’s first 20-win season since 1978 and its sixth overall. ASU’s appearance in the NCAA Tournament was the school’s first since the 1978 season. ASU defeated Catawba 96-84 in the first round of the NCAA Tournament, only to fall 65-48 to Winston-Salem State in the second round.

Setting up the tournament berth was a thrilling Peach Belt Conference Tournament title, the first in school history. ASU defeated Clayton State, USC Aiken, and top-seeded Armstrong Atlantic State in the conference tournament to claim the crown. For their efforts, T.J. Ott, Hawkins and Boodnikoff were named to the PBC All-Tournament Team. Boodnikoff was also honored as the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

Both Hawkins and Boodnikoff also were named to the Peach Belt All-Conference First team.

During the regular season, the Jaguars posted an 11-5 mark in the PBC and in the process notched an unprecedented third straight North Division Championship.

NABC All-South Atlantic Region First Team

Festus Hawkins, Augusta State

Wylie Petty, Johnson C. Smith

Robert Campbell, Armstrong Atlantic

Daniel Willis, Lenoir-Rhyne

Djaun Hawkins, Wingate College

NABC All-South Atlantic Region Second Team

Gary Boodnikoff, Augusta State

Rob Williams, Winston-Salem State

Simon Moore, Lander

Shingler Lemans, Johnson C. Smith

Nedzad Gusic, Catawba College

ASU 89, Francis Marion 73
February 15, 2001 ASU 89, Francis Marion 73
Jaguars defeat Pacers 72-63
February 1, 2001 Jaguars defeat Pacers 72-63
Pacers edge Jaguars 53-51
January 18, 2001 Pacers edge Jaguars 53-51
ASU Defeats Rollins 70-68
November 30, 2000 ASU Defeats Rollins 70-68