Jaguars Headed To Chattanooga

AUGUSTA, Ga. -- Augusta State earned a postseason bid Monday afternoon to the 2008 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships when the Jaguars were made an at-large selection by the NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee in Indianapolis, Ind.

The selection marks the 10th NCAA Regional bid in the last 11 years for the men’s golf program, and the 13th time in the last 16 years the Jaguars have been tabbed to participate in the postseason.

ASU will play in the NCAA East Regional, hosted by the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, at Council Fire Golf Club in Chattanooga. The Jags will be the No. 17 seed in the three-day, 54-hole regional, which begins Thursday, May 15 and runs through Saturday, May 17. A practice round is slated for Wednesday, May 14.

Council Fire Golf Club is a Robert Cupp design that opened in 1992. The 6,999-yard, par-72 layout plays to a course rating of 73.8 and a slope rating of 137.

“We’ve had an interesting year and this really makes it all worth it,” said ASU head coach Josh Gregory, who will lead the Jags to their fifth regional appearance in his six-year tenure as head coach. “We still feel our best golf is ahead of us. We like our chances in Chattanooga and hopefully we’ll have a lot of support there.”

The Jags will be making their first East Regional appearance since 2004. ASU made three straight trips to the East Regional between 2002 and 2004 before being shipped to the Central Regional in 2005 and to the West Regional last season.

ASU, which will be paired with UC Irvine and SMU in the first two rounds, will be looking to advance to the NCAA Championships for the 10th time in 13 NCAA Regional appearances.

Each of the three NCAA Regionals (East, Central and West) consists of 27 teams and six individuals not on the selected teams. The top 10 teams and top two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the NCAA Championships. The National Championships will be conducted May 28-31 on the Kampen Course at the Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex in West Lafayette, Ind., and hosted by Purdue University.

Stanford is the defending national champion, while sophomore Jamie Lovemark of Southern California returns to defend the individual title he claimed as a freshman.

Live scoring of the NCAA East Regional will be available at


May 15-17, 2008
Council Fire Golf Club
Chattanooga, Tenn.
Hosted by the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga 

Teams (seeded in the following order)
1.  Georgia
2.  Charlotte
3.  South Carolina
4.  Duke
5.  Chattanooga
6.  Auburn
7.  East Tennessee State
8.  Michigan State
9.  Mississippi
10. UAB
11. Virginia Tech
12. North Carolina State
13. Mississippi State
14. Georgia State
15. North Florida
16. UC Irvine
18. SMU
19. Middle Tennessee
20. Coastal Carolina
21. Memphis
22. Virginia
23. Western Carolina
24. Colorado State
25. New Mexico State
26. Western Illinois
27. Jackson State

1. Keegan Bradley, St. John’s (New York)
2. Jose Toledo, New Orleans
3. Johnny Caldwell, South Alabama
4. Michael McGrady, Troy
5. Jon Curran, Vanderbilt
6. Grant Leaver, Austin Peay

May 15-17, 2008
Scarlet Golf Course
Columbus, Ohio
Hosted by The Ohio State University

Teams (seeded in the following order)
1.  Alabama
2.  Oklahoma State
3.  Georgia Tech
4.  Florida
5.  Tennessee
6.  Lamar
7.  Wake Forest
8.  Indiana
9.  Texas A&M
10. Louisville
11. Wichita State
12. Kent State
13. Penn State
14. Arkansas
15. Michigan
16. TCU
17. Texas-Arlington
18. Illinois
19. Ohio State
20. Baylor
21. Colorado
22. Eastern Kentucky
23. Marquette
24. Eastern Michigan
25. Cleveland State
26. Loyola (Maryland)
27. Sacred Heart

1. Chris Baker, Iowa State
2. Clayton Rask, Minnesota
3. Josh Sandman, Notre Dame
4. Victor Almstrom, Minnesota
5. Brent Long, Western Kentucky
6. Jordan Weber, Northern Iowa

May 15-17, 2008
Gold Mountain Golf Club
Bremerton, Washington
Hosted by University of Washington

Teams (seeded in the following order)
1.  Southern California
2.  UCLA
3.  Florida State
4.  Stanford
5.  Clemson
6.  UNLV
7.  North Carolina
8.  Texas Tech
9.  Central Florida
10. Arizona State
11. San Diego State
12. Texas
13. LSU
14. Oregon State
15. Pepperdine
16. Oregon
17. California
18. St. Mary’s
19. Kentucky
20. Wisconsin
21. Washington
22. Oklahoma
23. Kansas State
24. San Diego
25. Denver
26. Navy
27. Columbia

1. Troy Merritt, Boise State
2. Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
3. Tarquin Macmanus, Arizona
4. Jason D’Amore, Loyola Marymount
5. Nathan Stamey, UNC Greensboro
6. Jimmy Lytle, Elon

Rough Day For Jaguars
May 28, 2008 Rough Day For Jaguars
ASU Maintains Position
May 16, 2008 ASU Maintains Position
Jaguars Open Strong
May 15, 2008 Jaguars Open Strong
ASU 11th At Schenkel
March 16, 2008 ASU 11th At Schenkel
ASU Eighth At Schenkel
March 14, 2008 ASU Eighth At Schenkel
Floyd Inks With ASU Golf
November 26, 2007 Floyd Inks With ASU Golf
ASU Fifth At CordeValle
November 6, 2007 ASU Fifth At CordeValle
ASU Sixth At CordeValle
November 5, 2007 ASU Sixth At CordeValle
Turner Advances At Q School
October 28, 2007 Turner Advances At Q School
ASU's Amos Wins First Title
October 23, 2007 ASU's Amos Wins First Title
Jags Soggy In Music City
October 22, 2007 Jags Soggy In Music City
Amos Leads At Mason Rudolph
October 21, 2007 Amos Leads At Mason Rudolph
ASU Fourth In Savannah
October 15, 2007 ASU Fourth In Savannah
Jags 14th At The Farm
September 16, 2007 Jags 14th At The Farm
Jaguars 10th In CCC
September 15, 2007 Jaguars 10th In CCC
Jags Ready To Open Season
September 11, 2007 Jags Ready To Open Season