Robin Petersson To Represent Team Europe In 2016 Palmer Cup June 24-26

Robin Petersson To Represent Team Europe In 2016 Palmer Cup June 24-26

NORMAN, Okla. – The Arnold Palmer Cup teams for both Europe and the United States were announced on Friday on Golf Channel's Morning Drive and Augusta senior Robin Petersson was named to the European squad. The annual Ryder Cup-style competition will be played June 24-26 at Formby Golf Cub in Formby, England.

For Team Europe, Sam Horsfield of Florida (England), Vanderbilt's Matthias Schwab (Austria), Adrian Meronk from East Tennessee State (Poland), Lars van Meijel of Memphis (Netherlands), Augusta's Robin Petersson (Sweden) and David Boote of Stanford (Wales) were determined through the ranking.

He ended his collegiate career with one of his best seasons in Augusta. He was amed PING All-Region for Division I Golf and earned a No. 29 national ranking by The Jaguars reached the NCAA Stillwater regional and finished in the top 10 in all 13 tournaments while earning a No. 29 national ranking.

Petersson dad three individual wins on the season. He took first place at the NC State Wolfpack Intercollegiate firing back-to-back 68's, won the Kiawah Classic shooting 68 and 66, and carded first-place honors at the MEAC Championship for the second consecutive year.

Posting six top-five finishes and nine top-20 finishes in his 12 events, Petersson ended the year with a 71.45 stroke average and had 20 rounds at par or better and 11 rounds in the 60s.

With his selection, Petersson is the eighth player to represent Augusta in international amateur competition. Previously, Henrik Norlander (Sweden), Robert Duck (England), Jamie Elson (England), Oliver Wilson (England), Kalle Edberg (Sweden), Scott Jamieson (Scotland) and Wallace Booth (Scotland) played for either Europe and/or Great Britain/Ireland in the Palmer Cup or Walker Cup.

Committee selections were Maynooth's Stuart Grehan and Antoine Rozner of UMKC. Mathias Eggenberger of Stirling (Switzerland) qualified for Team Europe by winning The R&A Foundation Scholars Tournament. Robin Sciot-Siegrist of Louisville was Janice Moodie's coach's pick.

Eggenberger, Schwab and Meronk return from last year's squad that fell to the United States, 18-12. Memphis' van Meijel and UMKC's Rozner are the first Arnold Palmer Cup participants from their universities. Including its coaching staff, Europe is represented by 10 countries - matching the event record set in 2015.

Maverick McNealy of Stanford, Charlie Danielson of Illinois, LSU's Zach Wright, Rico Hoey of Southern California, Auburn's Michael Johnson and Nahum Mendoza III of San Diego State were the six United States players selected by the Arnold Palmer Cup Ranking.

Derek Bard of Virginia, Chico State's Alistair Docherty and Will Zalatoris of Wake Forest were committee selections. Docherty was the designated non-Division I player. Will Gordon of Vanderbilt was Mike Cook's coach's pick.

McNealy represented the United States in 2015 and was also selected to represent the Arnold Palmer Cup in the 2016 Arnold Palmer Invitational. Hoey participated at Walton Heath in 2014 where he was chosen by Europe as America's recipient of the Michael Carter Award. Bard is the first Virginia golfer selected for the Arnold Palmer Cup.

Fans of Jaguar Athletics can subscribe to the email listserve by clicking here. Fans can follow Augusta University at and receive short updates on Facebook at Augusta University Athletics and on Twitter at @AugustaJags

-- 30 --