Augusta Grabs NCAA Regional Bid To Oklahoma For 19th All-Time Appearance

Augusta Grabs NCAA Regional Bid To Oklahoma For 19th All-Time Appearance

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The 2016 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships teams were announced on Golf Channel Morning Drive and the No. 30 ­Augusta Jaguars are headed to the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Regional at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Okla., hosted by Oklahoma State University.

The Jaguars return to Karsten Creek Golf Club for the first time since June 2011 when they won their second consecutive National Championship by defeating Georgia 3-2 in the Match Play Finals.

Karsten Creek is a par-72, 7,418 yard course that has hosted the 2011 NCAA Championship, 2010 Ping/Golfweek Preview, 2009 NCAA South Central Regional, 2003 NCAA Championship, 2002 Ping/Golfweek Preview, 2001 NCAA Central Regional, and the 1996 Karsten Creek Collegiate.

The selection for Augusta is the 19th in the programs history (1993-95, 1998-2005, 2007-2012, and 2015-16).

The field for the 2016 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships consists of 81 qualifying schools, which includes 31 conference automatic qualifiers, 50 teams selected at-large and 45 individuals not on those teams. 

Augusta earned an automatic qualifier to the regional after they claimed the top five spots individually to win their second consecutive Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Championship with a commanding 30-under par performance on Saturday at Crosswinds Golf Club in Savannah, Ga.

This season in 2015-16 Augusta ranked as high as No. 29 in the nation, finished top 10 in all 12 events on the season and had eight top-five finishes. Head Coach Jack O'Keefe and the Jaguars took home the team title at the NC State WolfPack on Oct. 6, 2015 and the MEAC Championship April 23, 2016.


Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 16-18.  Thirteen teams and ten individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams.

The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals. Team and individual medalist titles will be decided May 27-June 1 at Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Oregon.  The University of Oregon is the host institution for the 2016 championships.

To view every region  click here




Seeds / Teams

1.         Oklahoma State University

2.         Clemson University [Atlantic Coast Conference]

3.         University of Oklahoma

4.         Duke University

5.         Augusta University [Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference]

6.         Purdue University

7.         Michigan State University

8.         University of Tennessee, Knoxville

9.         Northwestern University

10.       University of Louisville

11.       McNeese State University [Southland Conference]

12.       Virginia Commonwealth University [Atlantic 10]

13.       University of Missouri-Kansas City [Western Athletic Conference]

14.       Alabama State University [Southwestern Athletic Conference]


1.         Nick Voke, Iowa State University

2.         Haraldur Magnus, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

3.         Grant Bennett, Wichita State University

4.         Kevin Gordon, University of Nebraska Omaha

5.         Thomas McLaughlin, Texas Southern University


Fans of Jaguar Athletics can subscribe to the email listserve by clicking here. Fans can follow Augusta University at and receive short updates on Facebook at Augusta University Athletics and on Twitter at @AugustaJags

-- 30 --