Robin Petersson Named PING All-American Honorable Mention, Begins Palmer Cup

Robin Petersson Named PING All-American Honorable Mention, Begins Palmer Cup

FORMBY, England – Augusta University men's golf senior Robin Petersson picked up a PING All-America honorable mention honor on the eve of the 2016 Arnold Palmer Cup at Formby Golf Club in Formby, England. Petersson is representing Team Europe in the Ryder Cup-style competition and the first round foursomes pairings teed off on Friday morning. 


Petersson (top row, second from right) with Team Europe at the 2016 Arnold Palmer Cup

The second, third and honorable mention PING All-America Teams were announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCCA) on Thursday, June 23. View the first, second, third, and honorable mention All-Americans below.

First round foursomes pairings for the 2016 Arnold Palmer Cup at Formby Golf Club were released at the Palmer Cup opening ceremony on Friday and match play started at 7:30 a.m.

Europe leads the United States, 6-4, after the opening day. Team USA won three of five matches in the afternoon four-ball session. Europe's David Boote and Adrian Meronk earned the first point of the four-ball session for dowing Derek Bard and Michael Johnson, 4 and 2. Team USA claimed the first two holes of the match. Birdies by Boote at the third and fifth holes pulled the score back to even with back-to-back birdies by Meronk on Nos. 6 and 7 gave Europe the lead. Meronk closed out the match by winning Nos. 15 and 16.

The United States claimed its first match of the Arnold Palmer Cup when Doug Ghim and Will Zalatoris defeated Sam Horsfield and Adrian Meronk. Europe took its only lead when Horsfield birdied No. 5. A Ghim birdie the next hole moved the match to all square. Another birdie by Ghim at the eighth gave Team USA the lead. The Americans would extend the lead to 2-up thru No. 15 and closed out the match when both Zalatoris and Horsfield birdied No. 17.

France's Antoine Rozner and Robin Sciot-Siegrist moved Europe to six points for the day after a come-from-behind, 1-up victory over Alistair Docherty and Will Gordon. Neither side gained more than a 1-up advantage, with Team USA holding the lead thru 15. Rozner pushed Europe into the lead with birdie at No. 16 and eagle at the 17th. Both Americans hit within three feet on No. 18 but Robin Sciot-Siegrist's birdie halved the hole. 

Team USA's Charlie Danielson and Zach Wright never trailed against Stuart Grehan and Lars van Meijel, winning 4 and 2. The Americans took the lead right out of the gate with birdies by Danielson and Wright on Nos. 1 and 2, respectively. Wright pushed the lead to 3-up with another birdie at No. 5. Europe won its only hole of the match at No. 7 to cut the lead to 2-down. The U.S. closed out the match when Danielson birdied No. 15 and Wright No. 16.

The Americans won the final match of the day when Rico Hoey and Nahum Mendoza III outlasted Mathias Eggenberger and Robin Petersson, 1-up. Neither side led by more than one hole. All nine holes won were done so with birdie with all four players claiming at least one hole. Mendoza put USA ahead for good with birdie at No. 17 and clinched the match when all four players parred No. 18.

Third-round singles matches tee off Saturday at 9:00 am. 

The United States leads the all-time Arnold Palmer Cup series 10-8-1.

Match Play Guidelines And Terminology

  • Match play is a game played by holes.
  • Score is kept by the number of holes up (won) and the number of holes to play. (Example: U.S. 2-up, with six holes to play)
  • When a team is up (winning) by more holes than there are holes remaining then the match is closed out and point is awarded.
  • One point is awarded for each match won. If the match is tied or "halved" through 18 holes of play, each team receives one half point. A total of 30 points are awarded in Arnold Palmer Cup competition.
  • If a match is currently tied while in competition, then it is considered "all square."

PING All-America Teams

First Team

Charlie Danielson, Illinois

Sam Horsfield, Florida

Beau Hossler, Texas

Lee McCoy, Georgia

Maverick McNealy, Stanford

Matthew NeSmith, South Carolina

Jon Rahm, Arizona State

Matthas Schwab, Vanderbilt

Robby Shelton, Alabama

Aaron Wise, Oregon


Second Team

Thomas Detry, Illinois

Doug Ghim, Texas

Gavin Hall, Texas

Rico Hoey, Southern California

Michael Johnson, Auburn

KK Limbhasut, California

Nahum Mendoza III, San Diego State

Adrian Meronk, East Tennessee State

Antoine Rozner, UMKC

Zach Wright, LSU


Third Team

Derek Bard, Virginia

Paul Barjon, TCU

Stephen Behr, Clemson

Will Gordon, Vanderbilt

Chase Koepka, USF

Tyler McDaniel, Kentucky

Max McGreevy, Oklahoma

Collin Morikawa, California

Greyson Sigg, Georgia

Kristoffer Ventura, Oklahoma State


Honorable Mention

Cheslo Barrett, TCU

David Boote, Stanford

Sam Burns, LSU     

Ryan Cole, James Madison

Jared du Toit, Arizona State

Luis Gagne, LSU

Franklin Huang, Stanford

Tee-k Kelly, Ohio State

Charles Kim, Arkansas

Hank Lebioda, Florida State

Patrick Martin, Vanderbilt

Dylan Meyer, Illinois

Taylor Moore, Arkansas

Gordon Neale, Florida

Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State

Stratton Nolan, Oklahoma State

John Oda, UNLV

Aksel Olsen, USF

Jeremy Paul, Colorado

Corey Pereira, Washington

Michael Perras, Houston

Robin Petersson, Augusta

William Rainey, College of Charleston

Ryann Ree, San Diego State

Davis Riley, Alabama

Robin Sciot-Siegrist, Louisville

Justin Suh, Southern California

Will Starke, South Carolina

Sepp Straka, Georgia

Lars van Meijel, Memphis

Will Zalatoris, Wake Forest

Fans of Jaguar Athletics can subscribe to the email listserve by clicking here. Fans can follow Augusta University at and receive short updates on Facebook at Augusta University Athletics and on Twitter at @AugustaJags

-- 30 --