Augusta Men’s Cross Country Wins PBC Championship, Ward Named PBC Coach of the Year

Augusta Men’s Cross Country Wins PBC Championship, Ward Named PBC Coach of the Year

FOLLOW ON            FACEBOOK             TWITTER                  INSTAGRAM


FORT BENNING, Ga. – The Augusta University men's cross country team won the 2017 Peach Belt Conference Championship Saturday morning at Fort Gordon Army Base on Stewart-Watson Field. Augusta head coach Adam Ward was named the PBC Coach of the Year for the eighth time in his career. Augusta has now won all five of their races this season and had six athletes named All-Conference.


Augusta dominated the race and won by 43 points over UNCP in second place. Georgia College carded third, Columbus State fourth, Flagler fifth, Clayton State sixth, Francis Marion seventh, and Lander eighth. This is the third PBC Championship for Augusta, after winning the league in 2011 and 2013.


Augusta's Daniel Broadhead, Dylan Forester, Hunter Kimball, Jacob Poston, Noah Hulett, and Josh Thompson were all named Peach Belt All-Conference for placing in the top 15.


UNCP freshman and PBC Runner of the Year Silus Kipkoech won the individual title with a time of 24:20.8. Jags junior Daniel Broadhead was close behind and took second overall to pace AU in 24:51.9, while senior Dylan Forester delivered a third-place showing in 24:58.8.


Freshmen Hunter Kimball and Jacob Poston shined for the Jags, with Kimball carding fourth (25:18.3) and Poston sixth (25:21.5). Noah Hulett notched eighth (25:27.7), Josh Thompson 13th (25:39.7), Merrick Rizzo 23rd (26:30.9), David Perez-Santiago 33rd (27:18.8), and Daniel Gibson 40th (27:38.3).


The NCAA Southeast Regionals take place on Saturday, Nov. 4 in Wingate., N.C., hosted by the Wingate Bulldogs. AU ran at Wingate once this year and finished second out of 19 teams.


2017 PBC Championships – Men's Team Standings

Augusta, 23

UNC Pembroke, 66

Georgia College, 78

Columbus State, 80

Flagler, 98

Clayton State, 185

Francis Marion, 210

Lander, 227


2017 Men's Cross Country

All-Conference Team

Silus Kipkoech, UNC Pembroke

Daniel Broadhead, Augusta

Dylan Forester, Augusta

Hunter Kimball, Augusta

Matthew Martin, UNC Pembroke

Jacob Poston, Augusta

Logan Ward, UNC Pembroke

Noah Hulett, Augusta

Collin Silliman, Georgia College

Noah Hollis, Columbus State

Austin Kidd, Columbus State

Shawn Olmstead, Georgia College

Josh Thompson, Augusta

Brennan Silliman, Georgia College

Charles Asouzu, Columbus State


Freshman of the Year

Silus Kipkoech, UNC Pembroke


Coach of the Year

Adam Ward, Augusta




PBC XC Coach of the Year – Augusta History

Adam Ward, 2006 (WXC)

Adam Ward, 2007 (WXC)

Adam Ward, 2008 (WXC)

Adam Ward, 2009 (WXC)

Adam Ward, 2011 (WXC)

Adam Ward, 2012 (MXC)

Adam Ward, 2013 (MXC)

Adam Ward, 2017 (MXC)


Fans of Jaguar Athletics can subscribe to the email listserve by clicking here. Fans can follow Augusta University at and receive short updates on Facebook at Augusta University Athletics / on Twitter at @AugustaJags and on Instagram @augustajags