Marie Cantenot Earns Elite 15 Award From Peach Belt Conference

Marie Cantenot Earns Elite 15 Award From Peach Belt Conference


FOLLOW ON               FACEBOOK                TWITTER                    INSTAGRAM


FLORENCE, S.C. – Augusta University women's tennis junior Marie Cantenot received the 2019 Elite 15 Award presented by EAB on Thursday night at the Peach Belt Conference Championships banquet on the eve of the conference tournament in Florence, S.C.


Columbus State's Marleen Tilgner was named the PBC Player of the Year while Flagler's Eden Shlagenhauf was the Freshman of the Year. CSU's Evan Isaacs and Flagler's Rodrigo Puebla were named the co-Coaches of the Year.


At each Peach Belt Conference championship event, the conference presents the Elite 15 Award every season. The award honors the student-athlete participating in the tournament with the highest overall cumulative GPA and is modeled on the NCAA Elite 90 Award.


Along with her stellar academic work in the classroom, Cantenot went 12-4 in singles play this season – competing mostly in the fifth position and going 8-1. She also went 1-0 at No. 2 singles, 2-2 at No. 4 singles, and 1-1 at No. 6 singles.


Cantenot and the Jaguars face off against Flagler in the PBC Tournament quarterfinal on Saturday, April 20 at 12:00 p.m.


View the 2019 PBC All-Conference team below.


2019 PBC Women's Tennis All-Conference Team


First Team


Adrienne Bofinger, North Georgia

Elena Bompieri, USC Aiken

Beatriz Lopez, Columbus State

Valeria Lopez, Georgia College

Candice Paya, Columbus State

Marleen Tilgner, Columbus State



Vaishali Jorge and Holly Bennett, North Georgia

Noa Davico and Luise Sachs, Columbus State

Lixin Wang and Anika Nissen, Flagler


Second Team


Eduarda Ferreira, Lander

Vaishali Jorge, North Georgia

Anika Nissen, Flagler

Felicitas Runkel, Flagler

Luise Sachs, Columbus State

Eden Schlagenhauf, Flagler


Doubles Teams

Candice Paya and Natalia Kattah Paz, Columbus State

Valeria Lopez and Emma Fleming, Georgia College

Adrienne Bofinger and Emma Etelalahti, North Georgia


Elite 15 Award presented by EAB

Marie Cantenot, Augusta


Freshman of the Year

Eden Schlagenhauf, Flagler


Player of the Year

Marleen Tilgner, Columbus State


Co-Coaches of the Year

Evan Isaacs, Columbus State

Rodrigo Puebla, Flagler


Fans of Jaguar Athletics can subscribe to the email listserve by clicking here. Fans can follow Augusta University at and receive short updates on Facebook at Augusta University Athletics and on Twitter at @AugustaJags


-- 30 --